ResGrandRoundsCommWEBL to R: Ryan Boykin, Brian Kirkwood, Natalie Soyster and Hannah StoneRyan Boykin, M.D., PGY-1 resident, Brian Kirkwood, M.D., PGY-2 resident, Natalie Soyster, M.D., PGY-3 resident, and Hannah Stone, M.D., PGY-4 resident, have been selected for the Grand Rounds Resident Committee.

Hispanic Heritage Month 2023

Being an adult immigrant to this country, I only recently learned about the significance of Hispanic Heritage Month. There is a common question about why the month covers half of September and half of October, and the answer is quite meaningful. There are several significant events to be celebrated by various communities within this 30-day period. Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Mexico, and Chile celebrate their independence within this timeframe. Dia de la Raza, which recognizes the blend of indigenous and European or mestizo heritage across Spanish speaking countries is observed on October 12.

Harrison Meghan 2020WEBThe UAB Department of Pediatrics welcomed one new faculty member in the month of September. Please join us in making them feel at home! 

Meghan Harrison, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Pediatric Hospital Medicine

Kane AndreaWEBAndrea Kane, M.D., assistant professor in the division of Neonatology, received a 2023 Inspiration Award from the American Medical Association (AMA) Women Physicians Section.

Amy CaJacob, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Pediatric Allergy and Immunology has been recognized by the Office of Patient Experience and Engagement for the exceptional care provided to her patients.CaJacob Amy 2019 WEB

Katie Metrock 22019WEBLaura “Katie” Metrock, M.D., assistant professor in the Division of Pediatric Hematology-Oncology, has been selected to take over as director of the Pediatric Neuro-oncology Program starting October 1, 2023. In this capacity, Dr. Metrock will oversee and grow and develop clinical, research, and educational aspects of the neuro-oncology program.

Gupta Sandeep 2023WEBSandeep Gupta, M.D., professor in the Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, & Nutrition, has been elected to serve as the vice chair of the Pediatric Gastroenterology & Developmental Biology for the American Gastroenterological Association (AGA). 

Salas Ariel 2020WEBAriel Salas, M.D., associate professor in the Division of Neonatology, is the lead author on the Impact Article of the Month for August 2023 for Evidence-Based Neonatology (EBNEO).

Tofil Nancy 2017WEBNancy Tofil, M.D., professor in the Division of Pediatric Critical Care, received the 2023 Wallace Alexander Clyde Distinguished Service Award from the Alabama Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Congratulations to the 15 faculty promoted effective October 1, 2023!